Colour of the Week

COLOUR: Essie – Smokin’ Hot

My favorite magazine, InStyle, featured a few polishes which were most often requested across nail salons in the US… and Essie’s Smokin’ Hot was one of them. Once again, I feel blessed to have such gorgeous colours in my hands. 🙂

Essie Smokin' Hot

Essie Smokin’ Hot

Essie Smokin' Hot

Essie Smokin' Hot

Essie Smokin’ Hot

From the bottle, it looks smoky brown – but as you can see from the swatches later, it’s actually (in my own description, of course) a smoky-dark-taupe/smoked-gray-violet. It’s complex, and dark, which is a winning combination in my book.

Essie Smokin' HotEssie Smokin' Hot

In natural light

In natural light

Formula-wise, it’s very excellent – up to par with the excellent quality that Essie polishes normally deliver. It’s thick enough to deliver enough colour in each pass (although a minimum of two are needed for full opacity), but it’s not goopy (quite thin, actually, thin-in-that-Essie-way), and quite spread-able. Gosh, this is sounding like some peanut butter spread haha. But seriously, it’s so easy to work with. I did three coats here, but it wasn’t thick on my nails. Amazing formula, I love!

In natural light

In natural light

In natural light

In natural light

In natural light

In natural light

As you can see, it’s kinda shiny and glossy on its own. 🙂

In terms of wear, I got three whole days before there was a tiny chip on one finger. I only had to take it off by the fifth day. Impressive! Smokin’ Hot definitely earned its position on my top favorites list. 🙂

With flash

With flash

Essie Smokin' Hot

Essie Smokin’ Hot

With flash

With flash

With flash

With flash

Overall, Essie Smokin’ Hot is an A+ polish – excellent, non-bubbly and easy-to-work-with formula, with a gorgeous colour that isn’t simply some “dark colour”. Do you love it as much as I do? 🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

