Bookworm Moment

Bookworm’s topic: The Hunger Games trilogy (The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay)

from goodereader.com

Yes, these books are on fire (pun intended), and I devoured them in a few days, like what other book fans did. You can’t blame it – they’re addicting. Most of them, at least.

I actually watched the Hunger Games movie starring Jennifer Lawrence and company a few months before I read the book. Only when I read the book did I realize that, yes, movies are much better understood only if you’ve read the book first. My first viewing went by in a haze, but I discovered that I understood and appreciated the movie and every element in it once I read the book (meaning my second viewing). There were even parts in my second viewing that gave me goosebumps, simply because having that scene come to life in a movie is quite powerful.

from filmforager.com

Naturally, as with every book-to-movie adaptation, there were parts cut out that fans would have wanted to see, or parts that weren’t played to justice as to some people’s opinion. Personally, I enjoyed both The Hunger Games’s book and movie.

Catching Fire, the second book, was equally riveting and addicting. I finished it in under two days: in fact, it got me so engrossed that I chose finishing the book up until the wee hours over sleeping early for work the next day. The power of a good book, indeed. Haha! It’s such a good sequel, that you would think it wasn’t written just for the sake of a sequel. Everything just seemed so natural and uncontrived: maybe that’s what made it so good. Frankly, I can’t wait for the movie to come out. 🙂

from jwwartick.com

The last book Mockingjay, on the other hand, was disappointing. Without (hopefully!) revealing too much, I felt like I was reading more about a mental patient, and less of the adventure and excitement of the previous two books. Sure, there were fight scenes and deaths and all, but this was all that Catching Fire was not: it felt contrived and uninspired. Le sigh. It’s always disappointing when a book, particularly the last, lets you down like this, no?

People who’ve read it, what did you think of the Hunger Games trilogy?

Leave a Reply

