Tasty Dumplings

We’ve been here a million times, but I’m writing about it just now.

Tasty Dumplings (620 Ongpin St., Binondo, Manila, with another branch, I believe) is an old little place that has been around as long as I can remember. They’re most famous for their porkchops, which are hammered as thin as pancakes, dipped in batter and fried. Now you know that anything fried solves the job for me, but their chops also have a distinctive flavor which always makes me come back for more. The porkchops come with either rice or noodles. Personal preference always makes me go with the rice, which I think complements the porkchop better. Some people, like my dad, prefer the noodles though.

In Chinese, this is called 梅菜扣肉, or pork with pickled vegetables. It came with bread (the usual combination with this dish) that’s similar to mantou (馒头), which my parents say are full-packed (I really don’t know how to explain this well right now) unlike other cheap breads which tend to be empty or hole-y on the inside. By that time I was too full to taste this, but I did get a bit of the vegetables, and they weren’t bad – a bit of the home-cooked flavor there.

So would I be coming back? As they say in Tagalog, tinatanong pa ba yan? (Is that even a question?) Of course I would! It’s fast & affordable, a quick fix for your hunger pangs. 🙂

TASTE                     B+ (honestly, the porkchop is the only thing I really like)

MENU-TO-FOOD      A-

ATMOSPHERE         B+

SERVICE                  A- (maybe it’s the familiarity, but the servers and the management always give the full 15% discount for my brother and his PWD [person with disability] card)

Leave a Reply

