Philippines, the Beautiful

I don’t lash out at people who insult the Philippines (well, not all the time), and I certainly don’t incorporate the Philippine flag in my outfit for every day. However, I’d like to think that I’m still quite fiercely nationalistic, in the point that:

1) I love my country, and the fact that I was born in it;

2) I’d be happy to live and settle down here even if there are so many other gorgeous countries in the world (*ehem* France *ehem*)

3) I believe it’s beautiful, as is every other country God has made.

I was explaining our national hero Jose Rizal’s poem “Sa Aking Mga Kabata” to my student who couldn’t understand its deep Tagalog. (Of course, I didn’t 100% understand some of the terms, but well.) In it, Rizal states that our country and its language (wika) is not in any way inferior to the “greats” like Latin and English because well, God made them all. And the fact that we have our own language is a blessing in itself. That inspired me a lot – I’ve read that same poem a lot of times before, but I never fully understood it right now as when I was teaching it. Ironic, but there.

It’s a really beautiful poem that achieves its purpose of teaching our fellow men to love our country and its language. πŸ™‚ Read it here.

ANYWAY!

I’ve been showing my love of the Philippines (yessss) on Pinterest, because I truly believe that our country has been supremely blessed by the Lord in terms of natural resources. Now we could go on a debate about how that’s not being used well right now, but MAY WE GET OFF THAT TOPIC FOR NOW. It’s all about the beauty!

And the nakakatuwa thing is, people from any country imaginable respond! And they love the beauty of the Philippines, maybe more than we do! The reaction has been overwhelming. Here, 5 of the best that I’ve pinned (all the photos are not mine):

A true wonder of the world, the Banaue Rice Terraces (with some still in good condition today) is truly a man-made wonder. To consider that no machines or technological chuchu were used during that time, it’s really amazing. For me, this is also a reminder of why diligence always brings success.

OF COURSE, Boracay, or Bora for short. Declared one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Bora is simply breathtaking. It’s a shame for me, as a Filipino, to admit that I’ve never been to Bora – which is such a shame! Recently, I’ve been hearing about various efforts to protect Bora’s beauty and restore it to its original pristine condition, which for me is so important when it comes to beautiful places like this.

With all the Bora fever, Palawan is always easily left out – but it’s as beautiful! Palawan is that “stick” that the Philippines is leaning on whenever you see the map of the Philippines. My family visited it late last year, and I’m happy to announce that this travel-deficient Filipina is going to experience Palawan for herself this year! HAHAHA. Yahooooo. Palawan isn’t as expensive, and offers more than the respite beaches. You can go explore the caves, diving, etc. IT’S GONNA BE SO FUN! I hope you’ll go visit soon. πŸ™‚

Admittedly, I got to know about Guimaras only when news broke out about a devastating oil spill that happened on it a few years ago. I hope that cleaning efforts were done and thorough, because the place is beautiful. And did I mention that the world’s best mangoes come from Guimaras? πŸ™‚

Saving the best for last – Amanpulo! When I pinned this picture, Pinterest went insane. People all over the world fell in love with this picture, and I was happy – not because my board got popular due to it, but because more people finally got to see just how beautiful the Philippines is. From what I’ve read, Amanpulo is majority private, which makes for an excellent vacation spot – for those with moolah, of course. :p

To be able to show a teeny-tiny fraction of the world how beautiful our country is… it’s enough for me. πŸ™‚ Now, Pinoys, is there no reason to be proud of our country?

P.S. Visit my Pinterest Places & Spaces board here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

