Reflection: A Thank-You Letter

Insanely personal, but if this gets obvious, then that’s the way it is.

P.S. Now that I’m writing it, it’s more of a letter to myself. “You” have just played a minor part in this moment of self-realization.

Dear you:

You’re becoming more special than I ever intend to or want you to be! But that’s the way things worked out, as reluctant as I would have been. So here’s for you:

Thank you for reminding me that aside from God’s eyes alone, I’m not that special as I think I am. You taught me, the hard way, that I wasn’t as “cute” as you and all of the other people in our group once perceived me to be. You taught me that you and all of the others stopped calling me your little sister because, well, it was time for me to grow up.

Thank you for teaching me, for the nth time, that my actions have consequences. I may be right, I may be wrong. I may have the right to put you in your place, I may not. (Which is the case most of the time). Your reaction may be justified or counted as plain over-reacting and not acting your age, but in any case, it doesn’t hide the fact that what I did was wrong. All of the stuff that happened after that was a slap that said to me, you do wrong too. You make mistakes too. You don’t get away with those mistakes every time, you need to be disciplined.

Thank you for bringing back to my attention the fact that I need to watch myself every time I talk, to remember that being a Christian, I carry Christ’s name with me everywhere I go and in everything I do. It’s become more about me and less about Him every single day before that day with you. So, thank you for bringing me back to my Father.

In short, you’re the medium to me learning something new from my Dad. So THANK YOU for giving me just another opportunity to learn.

And sadly, that’s as far as you go. Right now, you stop from making any further progress in my life. I have the right to not make you a significant part of my life, and you shall continue to dwindle from my life as we near graduation. Everything else shall be distant, sweet, fading memories.

As for you: I hope you don’t let your head get over you in the future. I hope you still keep a heart open to instruction and correction, no matter who it comes from. I hope that your words finally have actions attached to them. I hope you learn how to handle your pride because as the Bible says, pride comes before a downfall. I hope you don’t take everything as a personal attack (which I think you will do right now, but I’ll think positive) because you’re never gonna survive life that way. I loved you as a friend, and if that won’t be the case in the future, I wish you all the best for your future endeavours as that same friend from before.

As for myself: off you go to bigger and better things! People like that come and go into your life. You handled this one bad, let him/her go. God wants you to know how to go through life His way, which is always the right way. The next time you encounter someone like him/her, you know what to do. 🙂 And how could you forget love? The key word to everything is love. “And the second is like it: Love your neighbour as yourself.” (Matthew 22:39) How could you have forgotten to love, above everything else?  But anyway. Learn to learn from everything that happens. Learn to know what to put in your heart and what not to keep boiling and simmering inside. Throw out the negatives (after learning from them, of course) and bask in the love that your Dad always has for you. 🙂

As for you? One sentence for now: (’cause this is turning out so lengthy)

HE loves you as much as anyone else in the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

